The Guide Signs: Book One and Book Two (Voices of the South) (Paperback)

The Guide Signs: Book One and Book Two (Voices of the South) By Jay Wright Cover Image
Special Order - Usually Ships in 3 - 9 weeks.


In The Guide Signs, acclaimed poet Jay Wright closes a movement he opened with his first book, The Homecoming Singer, in 1971, a movement that takes its design from the ancient people of Mali. Wright continued this theme in subsequent works, gathered in Transfigurations: Collected Poems (2000), whose eight books represent the eight master signs. The two new books of The Guide Signs represent the primordial Nommo twins. All together, these ten books, as the ten earlier signs taken from the "complete signs of the world," provide the base for the soul and life force given to everything. Wright encourages the reader to participate in weaving the fragile and fragmentary fabric of experience, and to do what Horace Silver encourages his listeners to do--"get down in the music with us.

About the Author

Poet and playwright Jay Wright has received numerous awards, including a Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Bollingen Prize for American Poetry, and the 62nd Fellowship of the Academy of American Poets. A MacArthur Fellow and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Wright lives in Vermont.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780807132654
ISBN-10: 0807132659
Publisher: LSU Press
Publication Date: October 1st, 2007
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Voices of the South