What's Coming to Me (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
What's Coming to Me By Francesca Padilla Cover Image
List Price: $18.99
Our Price: $16.14
(Save: $2.85 15%)
Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

Staff Reviews


Discussion to be held on September 14, 2022 at 7 pm. Contact emily@servemethesky.com to be added to the Serve Me the Sky list and receive the details on how to meet for the discussion.

— From Serve Me the Sky Book Club

Description


Seventeen-year-old Minerva Gutiérrez plans revenge on her predatory boss in this equally poignant and thrilling contemporary YA about grief, anger, and fighting for what you deserve, perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Erika L. Sánchez.

In the seaside town of Nautilus, Minerva Gutiérrez absolutely hates her job at the local ice cream stand, where her sexist boss makes each day worse than the last. But she needs the money: kicked out of school and stranded by her mom's most recent hospitalization, she dreams of escaping her dead-end hometown. When an armed robbery at the ice cream stand stirs up rumors about money hidden on the property, Min teams up with her neighbor CeCe, also desperate for cash, to find it. The bonus? Getting revenge on her boss in the process.
 
If Minerva can do things right for once—without dirty cops, suspicious co-workers, and an ill-timed work crush getting in her way—she might have a way out . . . as long as the painful truths she’s been running from don’t catch up to her first.

About the Author


Francesca Padilla is a Dominican-American fiction writer born and raised in New York City. She is the recipient of a Walter Dean Myers Grant from We Need Diverse Books and holds a BA in Creative Writing from the State University of New York at Purchase College. She lives with her family in Rochester, New York.

Praise For…


Praise for What's Coming to Me

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2022
A JLG Gold Standard Selection

A Buzzfeed Highly Anticipated Book of Summer

A We Are Bookish Most Anticipated Book of August

A CrimeReads Most Anticipated Crime Book of Summer
A Scribd Best Book of August
An Apartment Therapy Best Book of August


“[A] promising debut . . . Padilla adroitly navigates issues of uncertainty, revenge, and sorrow in the straits of late adolescence with her Minerva’s rebellion against a sexist and abusive boss and her search for some beauty and meaning in a life that seems to be coming apart at the seams.”
—Oprah Daily

“More than just the experience with her mother’s illness and the passion for the beach, the book is a little bit of all the experiences Padilla has had throughout her life.”
—Al Día News

“One of this summer’s must-read books . . . What’s Coming to Me holds nothing back about the heartbreak and confusion of a young girl who seems destined for tragedy and grief in a town that offers nothing to her. In fact, at every turn Minerva faces racism, sexism, and adults whom she cannot trust. This coming-of-age novel is also a thrilling tale of revenge and redemption that is difficult to put down.”
—(585) Magazine

“Padilla’s highly anticipated YA heist story is full of righteous anger about life’s injustices, but it successfully keeps hope alive throughout the thrilling ride.”
—Scribd

“Padilla has created a character who pierces the reader’s heart by interspersing a miasma of anticipatory grief and anger with scenes that perfectly distill Minerva’s path out of the darkness.”
Booklist, Starred Review

“Lovers of flawed and morally gray characters to the front! This genre-blending heist/coming-of-age novel is trauma-informed and shows how the pressures of systemic inequalities can manifest into self-sabotage. Still, despite the heaviness of some topics, there are moments of fun and humor.”
—BookRiot

“Part summer thriller and part coming-of-age, Francesca Padilla’s powerful debut novel offers a nuanced story about a teen fighting for a better life, showing the many shades and struggles of growing up as it depicts life in all its messy authenticity.”
—Apartment Therapy

“Francesca Padilla's writing arrives with enormous integrity and realism: There are no easy solutions to Min's problems . . . [A] well-written and challenging novel.”
—Kingdom Books

“Hand this book to readers who like complicated lives, righteous anger, and surprisingly hopeful endings.”
—Teen Librarian Toolbox

“A magnetic, coming-of-age thriller about grief, class, and trauma . . . Realistic teen characters, hypnotic writing, and an honest portrayal of adolescence make this debut a perfect choice for fans of Sarah Zarr, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Phillippe Diederich.”
School Library Journal, Starred Review

“A moody and suspenseful YA novel about a teen who is deeply hurting . . . Padilla delivers a raw and chaotic portrait of adolescence.”
—Dominican Writers Association

“Emotionally layered . . . Padilla skillfully balances introspective musings on grief with thrilling mystery and intrigue in this intimate-feeling read.”
Publishers Weekly

“Raw and unflinching, What's Coming to Me is a beautiful story about the uncertainty of adolescence, the burden of grief, and all the ways love can surprise you. I so enjoyed spending time with Minerva Gutiérrez, and Francesca Padilla is a writer to watch.”
Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of The Voting Booth

“If you’re longing for a book that’s gritty (but not exploitative), that’s honest (but not cruel), and that will have you screaming as you turn each page . . . Francesca Padilla’s What's Coming to Me is for you. This sharp, realistic noir illuminates the nuanced journey of Minerva, whose anger is always right on the surface. A masterful debut and one hell of a ride.” 
—Mark Oshiro, author of Anger Is a Gift

“Unexpected and suspenseful. What’s Coming to Me is a ride fueled by anger and loss, in a car driven by teens who’ve had enough. Padilla has written a gripping story about survival and injustice. About young women taking back what’s owed to them with both hands and without remorse. There be no good girls here—and I’m grateful for that.”
—Isabel Quintero, author of Gabi, A Girl in Pieces

“Propulsive, fearless, and filled with heart-aching revelations, What’s Coming to Me is a beautiful debut by a scorching new voice in YA fiction. This is a thrill ride of a coming-of-age story, one that grabbed me by the throat but most of all moved me to the core.” 
—Nova Ren Suma, New York Times bestselling author of The Walls Around Us

What's Coming to Me by Francesca Padilla perfectly evokes the salt air, gasoline and desperation of a seaside town. A vivid and truthful book that delves into grief, denial and finding your way back to yourself.” 
—Alexandra Villasante, award-winning author of The Grief Keeper

“Nuanced, complex, and deeply emotional, Padilla’s novel skillfully delves into the personal impact of trauma and loss, as well as the damage violence and inequity can inflict on a larger community. The high-stakes narrative, as told by a grieving girl desperate to both flee and find meaning in a place that’s taken so much from her, is equal parts tense, heartbreaking, and ultimately healing. A must-read.”
—Stephanie Kuehn, author of We Weren’t Looking to Be Found

"A delicious story of revenge, unlikely friendships, and claiming your place in an all-too-unfair world. Francesca Padilla’s brilliant prose dazzles as Minerva navigates thrilling heists, quiet moments of grief, and all the sparks of joy in between. Minerva is a triumphant underdog, and her savviness, wry humor, and perseverance will win your heart."
—Angela Velez, author of Lulu and Milagro's Search for Clarity

“A class, wage and grief struggle tight as a garrote, Francesca Padilla’s What’s Coming to Me is devastating in its familiarity: Where an ice cream shop becomes the world, and all of the people in it.” 
—K. Ancrum, author of Darling

“Justice and morally gray areas collide in a story of haves and have-nots.” 
—Mindy McGinnis, author of The Last Laugh

“Unfortunately, there are too many Anthony's in this world whose toxic masculinity goes largely unchecked in a society that makes it difficult for young femmes to speak up about workplace predators, especially when, like Minerva, they are navigating responsibilities that require economic stability for survival. Minerva won't settle for the idea that that's just how things are. Anyone who has had to navigate anger and grief simultaneously while continuing to believe in the promise of tomorrow will root for Minerva's perseverance and determination to get what's coming to her.” 
—Elisabet Velasquez, author of When We Make It

“Minerva is all of us. If all of us were smart, cynical, hurt but brilliant young women working for just a little bit of dignity and a little bit of joy in the midst of so much turmoil. I can't imagine a reader who wouldn't fall head over heels for Minerva. Get ready for a journey.” 
—Erika T. Wurth, author of White Horse

“To say I enjoyed it was an understatement . . . You can’t help but feel for Minerva as she wades against a cold, dark tide of things beyond her control. It’s rare that you are able to slip so easily into someone’s difficult emotions and with Minerva, you feel her every step of the way . . . What's Coming to Me is a great revenge fantasy against 'that boss' wrapped around a tender grieving heart.”
—Sarah Nicole Lemon, author of Done Dirt Cheap

“Gripping and real. A layered story of grief, justice, and revenge told by an unforgettable narrator.”
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving

What’s Coming to Me is an action-packed novel.”
—HipLatina

“Padilla’s debut is an impactful, no-holds-barred exploration of grief and trauma . . . This book takes readers on a beautifully textured journey that combines equal parts coming-of-age novel, heist thriller, and caustic commentary on systemic social inequalities. Despite the seriousness of these themes, when the ending comes, it’s joyful, hopeful, and, above all, earned.”
Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781641293358
ISBN-10: 1641293357
Publisher: Soho Teen
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English